top of page

Waste separation Switzerland

When I moved out from my parents home I did not think about composting my waste. In my 23 years living with my parents this was never done within my family. Therefore, I grew up in …

Everything changed when I moved in with my current flat mate. She is used to composting since she was a child and thought me do that as well. I am proud to tell that I am taking more care about the environment for almost a year now. As I learnt, it is neither time-consuming nor costly as I always thought. It is even cheaper because you do not have to change the normal garbage bags that often, which are quite costly in Switzerland, as it does not smell bad. Furthermore, a decent amount of garbage is thrown into the compost bin, which is at no charge.

Composting is an efficient example of recycling.

As WWF states, Switzerland is a leading waste separating country. Since the year 2005, 50% of Swiss households are recycling organic waste. In future, this recycled waste might be used to produce electricity.

Since I learnt not to just throw everything in the trash can I realize how many people are using that green bin (picture) to separate kitchen slops and take care of the environment.

Sources:

http://www.wwf.ch/de/aktiv/besser_leben/umwelttipps/abfall_und_recycling/abfall_detail.cfm?uTippId=116

http://blog.tagesanzeiger.ch/gartenblog/index.php/33262/da-ist-was-faul/

https://www.google.ch/search?q=facts+about+composting+food&client=firefox-b-ab&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&sqi=2&ved=0ahUKEwjlqIHfg67UAhUCthQKHYKbAtEQ_AUIBigB&biw=1680&bih=948#tbm=isch&q=kompostk%C3%BCbel+schweiz&imgrc=Lzvk6b7e1QmhBM:

Featued Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Instagram Long Shadow
Serach By Tags
bottom of page